NORTH SCHUYLKILL SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Briefs Regular Meeting – May 13, 2020

A regular meeting of the North Schuylkill Board of Education was held virtually on the above date. The meeting was held virtually due to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The following **Students of the Month** were recognized and will be presented with a "Mission Possible" School Themed Shirt from the Board:

Students of the Month - March

4 th Grade	- Mia McDonald nominated by Ms. Laudeman & Ms. Reinoehl		
5 th Grade	- Dalilah Farrone nominated by Ms. David		
7 th Grade	- Joey Campbell nominated by Ms. Herring		
7 th Grade	- Zayden Sierdzinski nominated by Mr. Stone		
11 th Grade	- Helen Antanavage nominated by Ms. Herring		
12 th Grade	- Juan Serrato nominated by Mr. Snyder		
Students of the Month – April			
3 rd Grade	- Emmy Pearce nominated by Ms. Selgrade		
Kindergarten	- Knox Chuma nominated by Mr. Leibig		
7 th Grade	- Kaitlyn Seeraj nominated by Ms. Zangari		
12 th Grade	- Kyla Shustack nominated by Mr. Smith		
Students of the Month – May			
Kindergarten	- Will Radar nominated by Ms. Borden		
10 th Grade	- Victoria Plichta nominated by Ms. Palmerio		
11 th Grade	- Kacandra Joy nominated by Ms. Moyer		

The following **Retirees** were recognized by the Administration for their years of service and will be presented with a rocking chair from the Board:

Ann Marie Barket	Special Education Teacher	15 years (36)
Harry Lucas	English Teacher	32 years (35)
Cindy Piatt	Elementary Teacher	14 years

Action was taken on the following agenda items:

Finance Committee

Approved the financial reports and check registers

Personnel

Approved Administrative Internships for Caroline Schuster, Elementary Teacher and Liza Ulceski, Assistant Secondary Principal

Approved the Act 93 building assignments and salaries for the 2020-2021 school year

Approved Nathan Griffin as a Temporary Part-Time Summer Information Technology (IT) Worker **Approved** the following individuals as ESY Instructors for 2020: Mary Lang, Ann Subick, Matt Wislosky, Amy Maziekas, Abby Malloy, Amy Ryder, Amanda Pavalko, Leanne Mogish, Paula Miernicki and Mike Evans **Approved** a childbearing/childrearing leave request for Kaitlin Mroczka, Secondary Special Education Teacher

Approved fifteen additional summer work days for Secondary and Elementary Guidance Counselors **Approved** the union professional employee positions, building assignments and salaries for the 2020-2021 school year

Approved the Department Chairpersons for the 2020-2021 school year

Approved the Grade Level Coordinators for the 2020-2021 school year

Approved the following individuals as Homebound Teachers for the 2020-2021 school year: Michelle Misiewicz, Kelly Boyer and Karla Herring

Accepted the resignations of Anthony Winkler and Nancy Winkler, Part-Time Custodians

Approved the termination of Zachary Walter, Part-Time Custodian

Approved ESY Paraprofessionals for 2020 as follows: Jen Himes, Keri Barnes, Denise Brayford, Mary Piaskowski, Julie Hammond, Carla Harper and Jillian Bright

Approved the union classified employee positions, building assignments and wage rates for the 2020-2021 school year

Curriculum & Instructional Programs

Approved the changes to the 2020-2021 Senior Project Requirement **Approved** the adoption of textbooks

Extracurricular Programs

Approved the appointment of the following individuals for the 2020-2021 Winter Season: Ty Wartman – Head Boys Basketball Coach Linda Jones – Head Swimming Coach; Rich Wetzel – Head Girls Basketball Coach Leah Briggs - Wrestling Cheerleading Advisor; Corey Fetterolf – Head Wrestling Coach Melissa Tenaglia – Varsity Basketball Cheerleading Advisor Ellen Geidner – Basketball/Wrestling Cheerleading Advisor **Approved** the following Supplemental Positions for the 2020-2021 school year: Ann Subick – 4H Club Joseph Wyatt – Academic Team Advisor Ann Subick – Act 48 Coordinator William Lennox – Band (Concert Band) Michelle Schwartz – Band Director (Elementary) William Lennox – Band Director Justene Frushone – Band Director Assistant Sarah Antanavage – Band Front Advisor Michelle Schwartz – Choral Director, Elementary Brandi Kline – Choral Director, JSHS William Lennox – Choral Director, JSHS Assistant Leah Briggs & Mike Evans – Class Advisors, Freshmen Amy Maziekas & Mike Evans – Class Advisors, Sophomores and Juniors Nick Brayford and Mike Evans – Class Advisors, Seniors Ashley Borzak – Creative Tech Club Advisor Maria Zangari – Debate Team Coach Alyssa Colangecco – Debate Team Assistant Bonita Leib – Diversity Club Advisor Rachael Pasco & Carrie Miller – Elementary Art Club (Show) John Walsh – Elementary Envirothon

Danielle Moyer – JSHS Envirothon Morgan Bretz – SHS Envirothon Assistant Tabitha Walsh – Elementary Envirothon Assistant Joseph Wyatt – Fire/Rescue Michael Evans and Marc Wislosky - Friends Forever Kristen Weinreich – Friends Forever, Elementary Patti Dougherty-Wade – Geography Bee John Cuthie – Honor Society Advisor Leah Briggs – Honor Society – Math Rachel Anderson – Honor Society – English Lindsay Furman – Honor Society – Foreign Language Kelly Boyer – Honor Society – Science Joseph Wyatt – Honor Society – Social Studies Jennifer Rex – Math Counts Advisor Joann Miller & Michelle Misiewicz – News & Media Group Advisors Betty Terry – Pep Club Brandi Kline – Play Director Paula Hornberger – Play Director Assistant William Lennox – Play Music Director Jason Kline – Play Tech Director Melanie Fowler – SADD Advisor Melissa Lorady & Joe Tomtishen – Senior Project Advisors Riyuichi Narita – Ski Club Advisor Michelle Misiewicz – Social Media Danielle Moyer – Spanish Club Advisor Heather Schlein – Spelling Bee Coordinator Nathan Hampton – STEM – Junior High Kelly Stone – STEM – Senior High Sean Smith – Student Council Advisor Melanie Fowler – TAT Advisor Richard Leibig – ElementaryTech Lead Teacher Michelle Misiewicz – ISHS Tech Lead Teacher Craig Wagner – Trap Club Scott Frew – Weightlifting Advisor (1st Half) Joe Tomtishen – Weightlifting Advisor (2nd Half) Amy Maziekas – Yearbook Advisor Paula Hornberger - Yearbook Assistant Advisor Approved Justin Sharp as a Volunteer Fire/Rescue Club Advisor and a Volunteer Trap Club Advisor

Policy/Legislative

Approved the second reading of the following policies: 006.1, 335 and 626

Mary Anne Woodward was elected Treasurer

Merri Lynn Craig, Board Secretary

<u>Upcoming Meetings</u> June 10, 2020 – Committee Meetings – 6:30 p.m. June 17, 2020 – Regular Meeting – 7:00 p.m.